Ireland part 2

Carmen arrived and we set about exploring Killybegs the great fishing town of Ireland and home to Donegal carpets which grace the floors of Buckingham Palace the White House and Aras an Uachtarain home to the president of Ireland to name a few.The carpet factory was our first stop which now only has one weaver left but used to employ close to 100 people. It is now home to the Heritage Centre which has video and tours of the of the carpet making and how the fishing industry began in Killybegs. It even has a simulator on steering boats into Killybegs harbor not that easy I must tell you neither was the weaving. We got one knot in about 2 mins the ladies back in the day would do 300 knots an hour. Peace work at its finest.
The next day mum brought us in to Teelin about 15 miles west of Killybegs where myself and foe me president of Ireland Mary Mc Aleese attended the Gaeltacht summer schools in Ireland to learn our Celtic language she obviously wasn’t having the craic I was as she became president which is mandatory that you speak fluently compared to me who hardly has a lick of Gaelic. I was more interested in the girls.
We took a boat trip instead of the 2 hour hike out to see Slieve League the steepest cliffs in Europe (1292 metres) sorry Cliffs of Moher you are not the tallest with this guy called Johnny Byrne tours appropriately named I must add. Now for those of you that have never been in through as us Killybegs ones call Kilcar, Carrick and Glencolmcille they tend to have a funny accent, rich coming from me lol. And this guy was no different he even wanted us to jump in for a swim, said he would follow but couldn’t swim I wasn’t in the mood for lifeguard duties with Carmen not able to swim either plus the water is so cold it would freeze the balls off a brass monkey as we would say in Ireland. Check these stunning pictures of Slieve League

image

image

image

image

Mum and I, safety first.
We headed to Glencolmcille after that for a tour of an Irish village with house’s from the 1700’s, 1800’s and 1900’s amazing to see how simple people used to live.
From there we headed to Connemara in Co.Galway and visited Kylemore Abbey which was a boarding school run by nuns on how to become lady like.Bunch of crap one friend whose sisters went there told me they were allowed to go skinny dipping in the lake. Every teenager boy or possibly girl’s wet dream pity it’s in the middle of nowhere.
It’s quite the spectacle though and used to be self sufficient which is now a business enterprise for the American to get roped into and the paddy’s too I might add.

image

Clifden was next, a beautiful town on the Atlantic Coast worth the drive and  on into Galway City for the night. We headed for Quay street in the City Centre and had many Guinness in Murphy’s, Naughton’s, The Quay’s and The Front Door all within 1 minute walking of each other. Can’t remember much of the evening but we danced a lot. Unfortunately we missed out on McDonagh’s fish and chip shop a must if in Galway but the hangover got the best of us.
The final destination in Ireland was Dublin to go see the Gaa All Ireland senior and minor (under 18) finals between my own county Donegal and Kerry the powerhouse of football in Ireland. In the end our teams were beaten well.Congrats to Kerry on their victories, I’m glad I don’t have to stick around Donegal it was like being at a wake the following morning.  Just a game they say. Bs life and death I say.
The venue Croke Park is some place it holds 83000 people the world’s largest amateur sporting stadium.

image

Croke Park. Co.Dublin

image

Carmen and I.
All in all this was the most touristy is that a word lol I’ve done in Ireland but was definitely worth it. I think a car is the best way to go not that the buses are bad just take along time and you go when they do. I did see car sales shops have cars for €30 a day with insurance plus tax which is not bad, better than the big companies.
I found the quality of food in Ireland is of a high standard contrary to reports from people so enjoy.
Sorry this post is so long but I have to get Dubai done next and I’m already in Bangkok which is another story entirely.
Bye for now Gull.

Leave a comment